Board Members

Search The Register

Or View A-Z Directory


JohnB 2018sm.jpg


Professor John Bushnell was appointed to the Board in June 2015, and elected Chairperson of the Board in February 2018. He is a Clinical Psychologist, who worked for the majority of his 38 year professional career in academic, research, and clinical roles in medical settings with the University of Otago, before moving to Australia in 2005 to lead the establishment of a new rural medical school at the University of Wollongong.  He has held numerous advisory roles to health and government agencies, and previously served a term on the Psychologists Board from 2003-2005. He was a founding member and is a Fellow of the New Zealand College of Clinical Psychologists. His research interests have focused on the epidemiology of mental disorders and management of psychological issues in primary care, and he has supervised many doctoral students completing their research and practical training in clinical psychology. He recently retired from academic life and returned to New Zealand, but retains a Professorial appointment at the University of Wollongong. He is a member of the Board of Directors of CASA, a not-for-profit company delivering suicide prevention programmes throughout New Zealand, and also has a part-time consultancy specialising in supervision, research, and evaluation.

 Nalini Meyer 2016c.jpg  

Mrs Nalini Meyer was appointed as a lay member of the Board in August 2015, and was elected Deputy Chairperson in February 2018. Residing in Christchurch, she has an LLB/BA from Canterbury University and is a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand. She is a senior lawyer in a well-established Canterbury firm. With more than 12 years’ experience, her practice focuses primarily on property, commercial, governance, and trust law.

Nalini has served on various boards and committees over the years including both the West Christchurch Woman’s Refuge and the Christchurch City Mission.

Her consumer advocacy interest arises from first-hand experience of the New Zealand health system and a strong sense of justice, together with her legal and governance experience.


Dr Elliot Bell was appointed to the Board in August 2015. He is registered in the Clinical Psychologist scope of practice. He undertook his clinical psychology training at Victoria University of Wellington, later competing a PhD at the University of Otago. He worked for ten years in Capital and Coast District Health Board’s regional Forensic, Rehabilitation, and Intellectual Disability Service, and has many years experience in private practice. Since 2006 he has worked as an academic at the University of Otago Wellington, undertaking research, clinical teaching, and supervision of PhD students. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand College of Clinical Psychologists, and has been a member of the College Executive. He has been an advisor to the Mental Health Commission, and has had involvement with the National Depression Initiative and related public mental health projects.

ConnellA 1213.jpg  

Ms Ann Connell was appointed to the Board in July 2011, and served as Chairperson from February 2013 until February 2018. She is registered in the Clinical Psychologist scope of practice and is Director of Allied Mental Health for the three Wellington area District Health Boards. She completed her clinical psychology training at the University of Otago and began work as a new graduate at the Hawkes Bay Area Health Board before taking up a position at Porirua Hospital in 1987. Since then she has worked in clinical and management roles in a number of adult mental health settings and currently works in the Regional Personality Disorder Service. Ann has held executive positions in the New Zealand College of Clinical Psychologists and in this capacity has been a member and convenor of the Allied Health Professional Association Forum.


Dr Ainsleigh Cribb-Su’a (Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Tamaterā, Ngāti Kauwhata) is a Clinical Psychologist who joined the board in August 2017.  She has worked extensively in Child and Adolescent Mental Health both clinically and in leadership roles including operational management.  She has worked in governance across academia and the NGO sector and is currently the CEO of VOYCE-Whakarongo Mai, the peak body for the advocacy and connection of and for, children in state care.  Whilst being a Doctoral graduate of The University of Auckland, Ainsleigh is now an Academic Fellow of research units at Canterbury University and AUT University.  Her continued research interests relate to child and adolescent mental health interventions and e-therapies as well as children’s rights and resilience.  Ainsleigh is a member of the New Zealand Psychological Society and a participating member of the National Standing Committee for Bicultural Issues.

 Monica 2018sm.jpg  

Ms Monica Davis was appointed as a laymember of the Board in November 2012. She has a BA/LLB from the University of Auckland and has 30 years experience in law, employment relations, and human resources in a variety of industries in Australia and New Zealand.  She has extensive experience as an executive in retailing and infrastructure. Monica also has 15 years superannuation trustee experience in Australia and New Zealand, and is Chair of the Avonside Girls High School Board.

FaleafaM 1213.jpg  

Dr Monique Faleafa was appointed to the Board in September 2009 and served as Deputy Chairperson from February 2011 until February 2018. She is registered in the Clinical Psychologist scope of practice and currently leads Le Va, a national programme specialising in Pacific health workforce development. She has over 13 years experience working with Pacific communities in District Health Board and non-government organisations, at clinical, management and governance levels. She was also a founding Executive Member of Pasifikology (New Zealand’s Pacific Psychologists network).

 MillerI 1213.jpg  

Dr Ian Miller was first appointed to the Psychologists Board in September 2009 and was reappointed for a third term in November 2015.  Ian has a Ph.D. from the University of Canterbury and has worked in a range of public and private sector organisations since 1976. He is registered in the Psychologist scope of practice. His specialist areas are behavioural risk mitigation, behavioural applications to regulation, psycho-trauma and stress, and forensic issues. 

Jo Talbot 2016c.jpg  

Ms Jo Talbot was appointed as a lay member of the Board in December 2015. Jo is from the UK and has 15+ years’ experience working in health and social development in both the public and not-for-profit sectors at management and governance level. She completed a Bachelor of Arts at Bristol University in the UK, and has a Certificate in Business Administration and Post-graduate Diploma in Public Health from Massey University. She moved to New Zealand in 2005 after spending five years establishing an international non-government organisation, Deaf Child Worldwide (DCW), working with deaf children in India, Africa, and South America. She then spent five years working at the Ministry of Social Development as a Senior Policy Analyst in the Working Age People’s Policy Team, before moving to Australia where she worked as the Policy Manager at the Consumer Health Forum of Australia. Here she developed a passion for consumer health, working in partnership with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency to raise community awareness of the role of the National Boards in protecting the public and promoting access to health services. Between 2013 and 2015, Jo lived in Tonga where she was Vice-President of the Tonga Red Cross Society, and undertook a range of voluntary work and independent research.